PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED] Disc partitioning with a shared data and maybe dual/multiboot system

chaaderf
February 2nd, 2015, 10:39 PM
Hello!

I'd like to install linux on some boxes I'll get in near future and at the moment I'm planning how to create partitions wisely. But as I am a linux noob, I'd like to ask you advises too. What I want:

At the moment, I'm going to install only one operating system (linux) on each machine. But. I'd like to have an option to install more later to make the system dual/multi boot. In this manner, it would be nice to have a separate data partition so that all distros can handle the data. Also, if I decide to replace the operating system, this could help the installation as in successfull installation there wouldn't be a need to load personal files anymore.

So some questions:

According to advices here (http://askubuntu.com/questions/343268/how-to-use-manual-partitioning-during-installation), the first partition should be (possibly shared) swap. There is told in the guide that swap partition should be "swap size more than you have physical memory in order to use hibernation". But how much larger, actually? I noticed that in some older guides there are mentioned something like two times RAM, but some other guides suggest the size would be as large as amount of RAM. Which one is more precise? As far as I can see, the swap should be larger than RAM if there will be another distros on a machine...
Do I need to set a separate boot partition or is it sufficient to have just root partition for each distro? How about the size of root partition?
The data partition then... Where should that be mounted? On /home, /home/data, or somewhere else? And why? And filesystem format, can I use ext4?
Thus far I know that the machines are quite old ones (almost 10 years or so). But in future note, is there any difference in doing this in UEFI system?