PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED] debconf: Perl may be unconfigured (Can't locate Fcntl.pm in @INC (you may need to ins

authentictech
February 2nd, 2015, 07:24 PM
I've had a problem since running recent updates resulted in errors. I submitted bug reports for them here:

https://bugs.launchpad.net/ubuntu/+source/linux/+bug/1410324 (https://bugs.launchpad.net/ubuntu/+source/linux/+bug/1410324)

https://bugs.launchpad.net/ubuntu/+source/lightdm/+bug/1404353

Since these update errors, I am now unable to install any new software or updates because:

debconf: Perl may be unconfigured (Can't locate Fcntl.pm in @INC (you may need to install the Fcntl module)

The usual resolutions are inaccessible because apt-get and dpkg depend on Perl which is now broken and I am unable to update or install any software. I am now getting security warnings from software vendors that the software is out of date and at risk.

I am fairly new to Ubuntu. I don't use the command line very often and I generally stick with the LTS and install / update using the Ubuntu Software Center so it is concerning that an update error can break Ubuntu so badly in this way.

I really need step-by-step help fixing this. Can you help?

(If you would like Ask Ubuntu points you can post your answer here instead: http://askubuntu.com/q/577061/18599)

Thank you.

MAFoElffen
February 3rd, 2015, 12:58 AM
The last time I saw that error was about 4-1/2 years ago, with someone using version 10.04 LTS. They ended up reinstalling 10.04 to fix that.

What I didn't know back then, I know something about now. What is missing is a part of the PERL package. But the apt-package depends on PERL. So you just can't un-install Perl, and re-install it on it's own . But you could boot from a LiveCD, chroot into your installed system to do it...

What i would do first is to boot from a LiveCD and do a backup of the current state, then try to fix it from that LiveCD. Is this server or desktop? Version?

authentictech