PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED] Ubuntu Installer does not detect windows nor partitions

hishabi17
January 12th, 2015, 07:54 PM
Dear forum users, I am very new to linux and I am trying to install Ubuntu as dual boot with windows 7. However the installer will not find any operative system on my computer nor recognise any of the partitions I made with Gparted. Has anyone any idea on how to fix this?

I know this problem has been posted and solved already in this thread here http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=2236762 however I think I followed the instructions (the ones in the second last post after which the person said he solved the problem) and I still did not get anything out of it. So I am not sure if I didn't follow the instructions in the correct way or they didn't work for me, I am not sure especially because I am not used to the terminology so I am unsure if I understood what the solution was.

I attatch the screenshots (actually pictures as I don't know how to screenshot in Gparted) of what I tried to use. I first tried having some unallocated space (it's only 20Gb but I don't think ubuntu requires more, right?) and then I tried making two partitions, one formatted as swap and one as ext4.

In both cases the ubuntu installer just didn't recognise any partition (not even the windows ones) saying my disk has 500Gb of free space, which of course is not true.

Sorry for the rather lengthy post, and thank you in advance :)

Bashing-om
January 12th, 2015, 08:39 PM
hishabi17; Hi ! Welcome to the Forum .

Here's the deal .. The legacy partitioning scheme (MBR) due to addressing has a 4 - primary - partition limit. The way around this limitation is to make one of those partitions as 'extended' and within this 'extended' partition make up 'logical' partitions. ubuntu is happy to install in 'logical' partitions.