PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED] xubuntu-default-settings

nep-nori
January 9th, 2015, 05:22 AM
Hi, I'm a newcomer to the forums although I've been using the 'Buntus full-time for around 2 years now.

Basically, I'm going to build up a custom Desktop from the trusty tahr mini.iso (net install is it called?) and I was wondering what exactly is the purpose of xubuntu-default-settings, and for that matter, lubuntu-default-settings, ubuntu-default etc.?

Is it purely cosmetic or are those packages actually useful in some way?

Dennis N
January 9th, 2015, 05:48 AM
According to it's description, xubuntu-default-settings installs all the default settings, artwork, fonts, themes, greeter configuration, and so on for xfce. It's a dependency of xubunutu-desktop. Sounds useful to me.

kerry_s
January 9th, 2015, 08:32 AM
Hi, I'm a newcomer to the forums although I've been using the 'Buntus full-time for around 2 years now.

Basically, I'm going to build up a custom Desktop from the trusty tahr mini.iso (net install is it called?) and I was wondering what exactly is the purpose of xubuntu-default-settings, and for that matter, lubuntu-default-settings, ubuntu-default etc.?

Is it purely cosmetic or are those packages actually useful in some way?

if your building up from the mini.iso, then i would just consider them bloat. just stick to the main apps you want, the 1's to get you up and running in the gui. once you have a running de/wm you can figure out what you want from there. apps will bring in things like icons, themes, etc.. as a dependency, so your going to get a lot of stuff you probably don't want anyways.

nep-nori
January 11th, 2015, 10:15 PM
As I am now typing this from my "vanilla Ubuntu" gotten from the mini.iso, with XFCE4 on top, I'd say xubuntu-default-settings is a useless package.

Thread marked as solved.

kerry_s
January 11th, 2015, 10:25 PM