PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED] /boot on USB - One USB for Multiple Machines? - Possible?

DiagonalArg
December 13th, 2014, 12:48 AM
Hi all. I'm trying to build a few machines, each of which I would like to have /boot on a USB stick. I am wondering if it's possible to use a single USB for multiple machines? I have seen discussions of how to add live-USB images as boot choices, but it it possible to have options for multiple machines (at least 4)?

Forgive me if this is somehow obvious. I'm no expert in this area.

/DA

ian-weisser
December 13th, 2014, 04:40 AM
Upgrades and security updates may become problematic, with mismatched versions between /boot and the rest of the system....and missing files when the package manager looks for /boot.

DiagonalArg
December 13th, 2014, 05:02 AM
Thanks, Ian. You're saying there's no way to set this up so that it works with grub menu entries pointing to the various kernels/initramfs's, and grouped by machine?

Alternatively, is there some way to have multiple partitions on the USB, and then chain-load the bootloader, starting with some code that provides a menu: machine1/partition1; machine2/partition2; ...

(Feeling in the dark here, thanks for putting up with me!)

/DA

oldfred
December 13th, 2014, 05:43 AM
Keep the /boot folder in each system.

On a flash drive just install grub and manually create your own grub.cfg file.
This assumes each system is BIOS, and you do not have to have any special boot parameters.

If you happened to have every system with the same partitions.

menuentry "Boot Install on sda1" {
set root=(hd0,1)
linux /vmlinuz root=/dev/sda1 ro quiet splash
initrd /initrd.img
}

Or you can create 4 entires like this, using each systems UUID which are preferred. Each then could have different boot parameters.

menuentry "Boot System 1" {
set root=UUID=XXXX-YYYY
linux /vmlinuz root=UUID=XXXX-YYYY ro quiet splash
initrd /initrd.img
}