PDA

View Full Version : How to change GCC Naming Conventions?

willie6
December 8th, 2014, 04:50 PM
EDIT: Original Post is way, way off, I am a watchmaker and a ludite.

I have been attempting to compile openGL code in qt creator and in the terminal using the gcc command in the terminal. I get the error undefined reference with every single line of 'glfw...' code.

Apparently the problem is GCC has strict naming conventions and does a search for glfw3.dll.a. It finds something else because the file it's suppsed to find is named glfw3dll.a, and a simple renaming will supposedly make it find the right thing.

My paticular problem is I'm new to linux and I just don't know what i'm looking for and how to look for it. I am terrible at navigating linux I don't know where to find something.

How does one go in to change the naming conventions in GCC so it searches for glfw3dll.a or rename the file it needs to find?

I will now finish this thread with something that makes me happy. I built my computer over the weekend and it took me a really long time figure out execute a .run program which I needed to install Nvidia drivers on. Before I installed drivers, I ran the Valley Benchmark deal that shows all those fancy graphics of a nature because I wanted to see the before and after results. I got 5 fps running drivers off nouveau x server. After Nvidia drivers installed the valley program got 50 fps and that made me happy.

TheFu
December 8th, 2014, 05:07 PM
Update the makefile - use something like -l/full/path/to/glfw3dll.a

Linux (and almost all UNIXen) want libraries to be named "lib{something}.so" or "lib{something}.a". Then you can just specify the directory with -L and {something} with -l leaving off the lib and .a/.so parts. Don't fight it. Having .dll in the name is poor practice, IMHO. Leave Windows behind.