PDA

View Full Version : GUI list of programs

galmok
December 6th, 2014, 06:02 PM
While I am no newbie with Linux, I don't quite understand how the GUI is supposed to help me. It only lists a few apps and I can't find even the built in apps, such like the software updater. Is it true that there is no gui in Ubuntu anymore that can list installed apps? I found the software update by guessing that it probably had something like "update" in its name, but can't I browse my way to it?

If I cannot, how I am able to find out how to find less used programs, possibly with obscure names I cannot guess?

I found the list of programs using "Ubuntu Software Center" where I with numerous click can open several categories and see what is installed. But I cannot start the programs that way. But this gives me names and then I can click on the "Search your computer and online sources" and type in part of the name and then start the program.

Not exactly userfriendly in my view. I am certain I must have missed something in this GUI but it isn't obvious to me where to look. :-/

Gordonbp531
December 6th, 2014, 06:17 PM
If you want a traditional menu, you can install the Mate desktop.
The Ubuntu desktop has the launch bar, for your frequently-used programs, others you need to click on the Ubuntu button and search.

deadflowr
December 6th, 2014, 06:26 PM
Unity's menu called the dash can show all installed apps alphabetically.
You can access it by either pressing super(the windows key) + A, mouse right click on the top icon in the left side launcher( the dash icon, in 14.04 it'll overlay something about search files and appliations, etc) and se;lect applications, or open the dash menu and navigate the various sections of the dash from the buttons in the bottom area of the dash window (There should be a home a music symbol a video symbol, etc, and one for apps).

In the apps section is a line called Installed apps, toggle that line and then you can scroll all the apps you have, gui-ly.