PDA

View Full Version : what to do about python using all the memory?

jeff106
December 5th, 2014, 07:52 AM
Im new to programming so IDK how to handle all situations. I had a situation earlier where I used up all the memory in a python program and the desktop started to freeze up. Is there a way I can prevent python from doing this? Or do I just have to be savvy with the keyboard and watch out that I never let that happen?

veddox
December 5th, 2014, 09:25 AM
Usually if a program you write as a newbie manages to hog all the memory, there's a coding error in there somewhere... (Believe me, I know from first-hand experience ;-) )

Could you be a bit more specific about what you were trying to do when that happened? Or even better, could you let us see some code? (Use the [code] tags provided by the forum.)

jeff106
December 5th, 2014, 09:49 AM
I was doing problems on Project Euler(#41)[https://projecteuler.net/problem=41] and I did something that I knew was going to take a lot of memory, but I was just attempting a brute force solution before I moved onto something more efficient.

I was trying to put together a list of a billion [False] tags to build a Sieve of Eratosthenes

x = [False] * 987654321

and it just immediately stalled when I started it. Aside from it being an inefficient way of solving the problem, how could I go about avoiding this error and locking up y computer if by accident or on purpose in the future?

veddox
December 5th, 2014, 12:23 PM