PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED] Ubuntu-restricted-extras Error



niki85
December 1st, 2014, 12:22 AM
Hello,


I use 14.04.01 LTS try to install ubuntu-restricted-extras, add:



sudo apt-get install ubuntu-restricted-extras
I get this error:



E: Unable to locate package ubuntu-restricted-extras

How to fix this ?

Thanks.

Frogs Hair
December 1st, 2014, 01:27 AM
Try the following and run the installation command again .
sudo apt-get update && sudo apt-get upgrade If that doesn't work open software and updates and check the box next to Canonical Partners and run the following.
sudo apt-get update Now try the installation command again.

niki85
December 1st, 2014, 02:30 PM
Try the following and run the installation command again .
sudo apt-get update && sudo apt-get upgrade If that doesn't work open software and updates and check the box next to Canonical Partners and run the following.
sudo apt-get update Now try the installation command again.

Hello,

I try your solution with


sudo apt-get update && sudo apt-get upgrade

And


sudo apt-get update

And i get same error again.

carlwsnyder
December 1st, 2014, 03:04 PM
Did you even check to see if the proper repositories are enabled as suggested by the previous post?


If that doesn't work open software and updates and check the box next to Canonical Partners and run the following.Code:
sudo apt-get update
Now try the installation command again.If you don't have the proper repositories enabled, you never will find the packages.

niki85
December 1st, 2014, 03:53 PM
Did you even check to see if the proper repositories are enabled as suggested by the previous post?

If you don't have the proper repositories enabled, you never will find the packages.

How to check if my repositories are enabled and if not how to enable repositories ?
I found some tutorials online but don't help me.

Thanks.

slickymaster
December 1st, 2014, 04:07 PM
Open Software & Updates. Select the 'Other Software' tab and check the box that says, "Canonical Partners". You'll be prompt for your password, insert it and reload your software sources.

Frogs Hair had already posted on how you should do it in his post #2 (http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=2254885&p=13177911&viewfull=1#post13177911).

niki85
December 1st, 2014, 04:11 PM
Open Software & Updates. Select the 'Other Software' tab and check the box that says, "Canonical Partners". You'll be prompt for your password, insert it and reload your software sources.

Frogs Hair had already posted on how you should do it in his post #2 (http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=2254885&p=13177911&viewfull=1#post13177911).

I need to tutorial for do this via PuTTY ?

Thanks.

slickymaster
December 1st, 2014, 04:19 PM
I need to tutorial for do this via PuTTY ?

Thanks.

I'm not sure I understood your question. What's PuTTY have to do with your issue? PuTTY is terminal emulator, serial console and network file transfer application and it's not minimally related with your issue.

All you have to do is to open Ubuntu Software Center and from the 'Edit' menu option click 'Software Sources'. This will open the Software & Updates dialog where you'll have to navigate to the 'Other Software' tab and check the box that says, "Canonical Partners". You'll be prompt for your password, insert it and reload your software sources.

niki85
December 1st, 2014, 04:25 PM
I'm not sure I understood your question. What's PuTTY have to do with your issue? PuTTY is terminal emulator, serial console and network file transfer application and it's not minimally related with your issue.

All you have to do is to open Ubuntu Software Center and from the 'Edit' menu option click 'Software Sources'. This will open the Software & Updates dialog where you'll have to navigate to the 'Other Software' tab and check the box that says, "Canonical Partners". You'll be prompt for your password, insert it and reload your software sources.

I do this via terminal software i have ubuntu 14.04 LTS install on my dedicated software.

Thanks.

slickymaster
December 1st, 2014, 04:40 PM
I do this via terminal software i have ubuntu 14.04 LTS install on my dedicated software.

Thanks.

To add it via terminal, run the following, one at a time:
sudo add-apt-repository "deb http://archive.canonical.com/ $(lsb_release -sc) partner"
sudo apt-get update

niki85
December 1st, 2014, 04:43 PM
To add it via terminal, run the following, one at a time:
sudo add-apt-repository "deb http://archive.canonical.com/ $(lsb_release -sc) partner"
sudo apt-get update

I add this command:


sudo add-apt-repository "deb http://archive.canonical.com/ $(lsb_release -sc) partner"
sudo apt-get update

But they show me again error:


sudo: add-apt-repository: command not found

?

Thanks.

slickymaster
December 1st, 2014, 04:47 PM
Can you please post back the output you get when you run:
apt-cache policy software-properties-common

niki85
December 1st, 2014, 05:03 PM
Can you please post back the output you get when you run:
apt-cache policy software-properties-common

Sure, please check:


software-properties-common:
Installed: (none)
Candidate: 0.92.37.2
Version table:
0.92.37.2 0
500 http://ubuntu.mirrors.ovh.net/ftp.ubuntu.com/ubuntu/ trusty-updates/main amd64 Packages
0.92.36 0
500 http://ubuntu.mirrors.ovh.net/ftp.ubuntu.com/ubuntu/ trusty/main amd64 Packages

slickymaster
December 1st, 2014, 05:05 PM
At the terminal run:
sudo apt-get install software-properties-commonOnce that done try again one at a time:
sudo add-apt-repository "deb http://archive.canonical.com/ $(lsb_release -sc) partner"
sudo apt-get update

niki85
December 1st, 2014, 05:13 PM
At the terminal run:
sudo apt-get install software-properties-commonOnce that done try again one at a time:
sudo add-apt-repository "deb http://archive.canonical.com/ $(lsb_release -sc) partner"
sudo apt-get update

I run:


sudo apt-get install software-properties-common

Then:


sudo add-apt-repository "deb http://archive.canonical.com/ $(lsb_release -sc) partner"
sudo apt-get update

And then:


sudo apt-get install ubuntu-restricted-extras

And i get again same error:




root@:~# sudo apt-get install ubuntu-restricted-extras
Reading package lists... Done
Building dependency tree
Reading state information... Done
E: Unable to locate package ubuntu-restricted-extras

maybe this is because i use vps not dedicated server ?

slickymaster
December 1st, 2014, 05:33 PM
I run:


sudo apt-get install software-properties-common

Then:


sudo add-apt-repository "deb http://archive.canonical.com/ $(lsb_release -sc) partner"
sudo apt-get update

And then:


sudo apt-get install ubuntu-restricted-extras

And i get again same error:




root@:~# sudo apt-get install ubuntu-restricted-extras
Reading package lists... Done
Building dependency tree
Reading state information... Done
E: Unable to locate package ubuntu-restricted-extras

Sorry, my bad. Just now I realize you want to install ubuntu-restricted-extras. For that what you have to enable is the multiverse repository, not the partners one.
Use these:
sudo add-apt-repository "deb http://archive.ubuntu.com/ubuntu $(lsb_release -sc) multiverse"
sudo apt-get update
sudo apt-get install ubuntu-restricted-extras

niki85
December 1st, 2014, 06:06 PM
To add it via terminal, run the following, one at a time:
sudo add-apt-repository "deb http://archive.canonical.com/ $(lsb_release -sc) partner"
sudo apt-get update

This work thanks a lot Sir on patience with me, i now try to install:


sudo apt-get install ffmpeg

And get similar error:


E: Package 'ffmpeg' has no installation candidate

and then i found on internet some solution:

http://tinyurl.com/kswxug8 (http://ivanblagojevic.com/2014/09/where-is-the-missing-ffmpeg-from-the-ubuntu-repositories/)

and then i try to install:


sudo apt-get install php5-ffmpeg

and again get similar error:


E: Unable to locate package php5-ffmpeg

before on some other ubuntu version i easy install all this with one command, my question is why i need on this 14.04 LTS add all this solution for install basic plugins ? And how avoid this ?

In future if i get this error i will install all with this way:


sudo add-apt-repository "deb http://archive.ubuntu.com/ubuntu $(lsb_release -sc) multiverse"
sudo apt-get update
sudo apt-get install ubuntu-restricted-extras or ffmpeg or what ever

?

Thanks.

slickymaster
December 1st, 2014, 06:24 PM
FFmpeg package was removed since some time now from Debian repositories, and Ubuntu now has avconv instead of FFmpeg. But it will be returning to the Official Ubuntu Repositories with Ubuntu 15.04 Vivid Vervet.

To install avconv you need to install the libav-tools package:
sudo apt-get install libav-tools
Or if you prefer, you can use the following PPA:
sudo apt-add-repository ppa:jon-severinsson/ffmpeg
sudo apt-get update
sudo apt-get install ffmpeg

niki85
December 1st, 2014, 06:28 PM
FFmpeg package was removed since some time now from Debian repositories, and Ubuntu now has avconv instead of FFmpeg. But it will be returning to the Official Ubuntu Repositories with Ubuntu 15.04 Vivid Vervet.

To install avconv you need to install the libav-tools package:
sudo apt-get install libav-tools
Or if you prefer, you can use the following PPA:
sudo apt-add-repository ppa:jon-severinsson/ffmpeg
sudo apt-get update
sudo apt-get install ffmpeg

Thanks,

what about:

sudo apt-get install php5-ffmpeg

?

slickymaster
December 1st, 2014, 06:37 PM
Thanks,

what about:

sudo apt-get install php5-ffmpeg

?

From http://ffmpeg-php.sourceforge.net/ (http://ffmpeg-php.sourceforge.net/:)
ffmpeg-php is an extension for PHP that adds an easy to use, object-oriented API for accessing and retrieving information from video and audio files. It has methods for returning frames from movie files as images that can be manipulated using PHP's image functions. This works well for automatically creating thumbnail images from movies. ffmpeg-php is also useful for reporting the duration and bitrate of audio files (mp3, wma...). ffmpeg-php can access many of the video formats supported by ffmpeg (mov, avi, mpg, wmv...)

I honestly can't manage to find any sane reason for you to install it, if you're just intending to watch videos.

Elfy
December 1st, 2014, 06:41 PM
php5-ffmpeg

is only in 10.04 for server and 12.04

http://packages.ubuntu.com/search?keywords=php5-ffmpeg

niki85
December 1st, 2014, 06:56 PM
From http://ffmpeg-php.sourceforge.net/ (http://ffmpeg-php.sourceforge.net/:)

I honestly can't manage to find any sane reason for you to install it, if you're just intending to watch videos.

I need this for one script who convert videos,
In setup.txt write and this command,

slickymaster
December 1st, 2014, 07:00 PM
I need this for one script who convert videos,
In setup.txt write and this command,

I advise you to open a new thread on that issue, since the reason behind this one is solved.

From Suggestions on how to get your support questions answered as quickly as possible (http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=1422475&p=8920811#post8920811)
Post only one thread on your topic. Posting multiple threads dilutes community effort, and makes it more difficult for others to help.

niki85
December 1st, 2014, 07:22 PM
I advise you to open a new thread on that issue, since the reason behind this one is solved.

From Suggestions on how to get your support questions answered as quickly as possible (http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=1422475&p=8920811#post8920811)


Ok. thank you very much on patience.