PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED] Ubuntu 14.04 64 bits partitioning

mohammed-moumen
November 26th, 2014, 03:13 AM
Hello;
I have upgraded my ubuntu 12.04 to 14.04 (64bits) and now I want to create a separate partition in order to install on it a Windows system but really I don’t know how to do it since I am a beginner on Linux. So I downloaded Gparted to see my partitions and I got 2 partitions and one as unknown :
1st partition : /dev/sda1 which has a file system ext4 and has the largest size on my laptop (924 GiB, and my hard drive’s size is about 1TB) and has a flag “boot”
2nd partition : /dev/sda2 which has a file system “extended” and a size of 7.89 GiB
3rd partition : /dev/sda5 with a “!” concatenated to its name and a file system “unknown” and has the same size of 2nd partition.
So, I want at first to resize my partition (the 1st one) and then to have a standard partition (boot, home and swap) after which I want to create a separate partition for Windows to install an XP or Win7 on it.
Can you please help me?

yancek
November 26th, 2014, 04:20 AM
sda1 is the system partition with Ubuntu, sda2 is an Extended partition which doesn't contain any data but does have the logical partition (sda5) inside it. That's the swap partition.

You would save yourself some trouble is you installed whichever windows you are going to use first. You can resize the first partition (sda1) by using GParted which is on the Ubuntu installation medium. You can't do it from the running Ubuntu system. If you already have Ubuntu installed, why do you want to create separate boot, home and swap partitions? If you are a new user, it will be a lot easier to just leave Ubuntu on one partition as you won't have to worry about filling your boot partition (which happens quite frequently with new users) thus rendering Ubuntu unbootable.