PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED] Fresh install Kubuntu 14.10 won't boot, no grub, straight to black screen

finny388
November 17th, 2014, 08:16 PM
Just built new machine
Gigabyte H97N-wifi, i5 4590, samsung 840, wd black 4TB, Asus Strix 970

Live USB would go to black screen after grub until I learned to press 'e' and replace 'splash quiet' with 'nomodeset'.

So then I was able to install Kubuntu
sda (840) partitioned 50MB for EFI partition (sda2) and the rest for / (sda1)
sdb (WD 4TB) 8GB for swap (sdb2) and the rest for /home (sdb1)

Now when I try to boot it posts and then 'booting in insecure mode' appears, then screen goes black, a short press on the power button will power it down.

I'm new to EFI and secure boot, I only created the 50MB EFI partition as I was prompted to do so during install
Bootloader was assigned to sda during install
Hacking around to install linux is somewhat nostalgic but more so embarrassing when people ask how I'm loving my new pc.

I suspect I have to do the nomodeset thing again until I can install nvidia drivers but don't know why grub won't come up.

Any help appreciated.

oldfred
November 17th, 2014, 11:21 PM
Is video card then nVidia?

I just built new UEFI system with Asus AR. I had to change a lot of settings in UEFI/CSM to get it to work.

Your efi partition is a bit small. Windows default is 100MB and we often suggest 300MB or a bit more. I do like to have a working install on every hard drive, just to make it easy to boot when something unexpected happens. But I also have a full UEFI boot install on a flash drive also.

My nVidia is an old card as I wanted to test the internal Intel video. But I guess I selected the wrong motherboard as my monitor only has DVI or VGA and motherboard has HDMI and Displayport. :(