PDA

View Full Version : Adviceon minimum harware cofiguration

derykddb
March 28th, 2005, 02:34 PM
Hi,
I am new to Lynex. My interest in the operating system is that, because of what I have read, It would be an ideal system for use by churches etc. Transfers of programs and operating systems to sister organisations can be done without fear of working illegally.
However there seem to be some serious problems when changing from MS windows to lynex with desktop facilities.
For example, my understanding is:
One would need a VGA card of at least 8 megs, windows works happily on 4 megs
It seems that some sound cards because of conflicts cannot be used on lynex.
On the other hand the group that developed the church system say that the system was developed on a 486. I must be missing something somewhere!
What I need to know is the minimum configuration that could have a desktop facility using lynex with a reasonable word processor, spreadsheet and accounting package. Alternatively a reasonable user friendly arrangement that could be used by users who are not computer fundies.
The church system can be found on “infocentral.org” so the only stumbling block is what hardware to use, especially considering that most churches if they have computers at all are likely to have old p1 or equivalent.
Can any one help

Deryk.

moopere
March 28th, 2005, 03:15 PM
>I am new to Lynex.

I don't want to come across as overly nit picky, but you'll get a lot less people laughing at you if you spell linux correctly.

As I recall, Linus (of Linux kernel fame) says that the way to say Linux is...lin-ux (the "in" bit as "whats _in_ the box"). I could be wrong on this last however.

> My interest in the operating system is that, because of what I have read, It would
> be an ideal system for use by churches etc. Transfers of programs and operating
> systems to sister organisations can be done without fear of working illegally.

Yep, sounds good.