PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Dual boot - baffled after many upgrades

kennedyhart716_a
November 12th, 2014, 03:50 PM
I've been updating Ubuntu for several years now without problems. I've upgraded from ubuntu 13.10 to 14.04 via live CD on a dual boot desktop alongside Win 7. I was offered several options including upgrading keeping files etc. Chose this and all seemed to go well. Now the machine would only go directly to Windows without the boot options. I tried a fresh install from disk and was given option of removing 14.04 with fresh install. Chose this - I have data backup. Same result - directly into Windows, and no dual boot menu.
Any guidance [not too technical, please] would be appreciated.

Ken

yancek
November 12th, 2014, 06:33 PM
Is your windows installed in MBR mode or EFI? I would expect MBR. Were you previously using the Ubuntu Grub bootloader to boot windows and your earlier versions of Ubuntu? Did you select to install the Grub bootloader to the master boot record, /dev/sda if you have only one hard drive?

kennedyhart716_a
November 12th, 2014, 09:48 PM
Thanks for replying. EFI? Sorry, win 7 was loaded on a normal installation. I don't understand what this acronym stands for. The bootloader always came up with ubuntu at the top followed by windows as expected. On previous versions the upgrade happened automatically. I've never had to select to install the b/l to the master boot record [yes ubu and win are on one drive] since first installation back about end of 08.

yancek
November 12th, 2014, 10:40 PM
The default installation usually install to the master boot record so I'm not sure what happened. I've never used the option you selected so I don't know what one would expect. You do not see an option for Ubuntu, correct? Use the Ubuntu DVD and go to the site below which explains how to reinstall Grub on Ubuntu. If that doesn't work, post back. The boot repair tool might be the simplest option.