PDA

View Full Version : Best practice: Setup for partitions and encryption

zegerman
November 10th, 2014, 05:44 PM
Hi,

I am new to ubuntu and I want to find a good setup for my Dell e7440.

There are 2 questions I am struggling with
1) what's the best partition setup
2) what's the best / most efficient way to secure my data

I believe these are questions that every user would ask themselves before setting up a system.
Unfortunately I couldn't find a clear answer on the web and therefore ask you for advise.

My goal is simple:
Find a partitioj setup that allows an easy future change if I want to move to other distros
Efficiently secure my personal data (development code, documents, pictures) in case the my laptop is lost/stolen

1. Separte Home partition vs one System partitions

I wanted to go with one partition just to make most of the disk space.
Many posts advised on going with a separate /home partition since it will make life easier down the road e.g. reinstalling

Therefore I think a separate home partition is the way to go.

What do you agree?

2. Home encryption vs Full Encryption vs Truetrypt

Having a separate home parition what would be the recommended and most efficient encryption setup?

Are there any downsides that I should be aware of when having
1)a home partition encryption?
2)truecrpyt container

Can I go with full encryption setup if I have a separate home partition?
Is it possible to reinstall the system and being able to access the home paritions afterwards?

Cheers

sudodus
November 10th, 2014, 06:03 PM
Hi,

I am new to ubuntu and I want to find a good setup for my Dell e7440.

There are 2 questions I am struggling with
1) what's the best partition setup
2) what's the best / most efficient way to secure my data

It depends on what you want to achieve. What level of security, how easy to use and backup ...

I believe these are questions that every user would ask themselves before setting up a system.