PDA

View Full Version : Not enough free disk space ERROR upgrading 14.04-1 LTS to 14.10

macsociety
November 7th, 2014, 11:22 PM
Just tried my 1st sudo do-release-upgrade -d to upgrade from Ubuntu Gnome 14.04-1 to 14.10 but getting an error message that confuses me.

I am not a linux expert either.

It basically aborts the upgrade saying not enough disk space.

My hard drive is 1TB and I have a good 700GB left so can't be that.

This is the log in the terminal that I see. (help..... please)

TJ

"Checking package manager
Reading package lists... Done
Building dependency tree
Reading state information... Done
Building data structures... Done

Calculating the changes

Calculating the changes

Not enough free disk space

The upgrade has aborted. The upgrade needs a total of 63.1 M free
space on disk '/boot'. Please free at least an additional 22.0 M of
disk space on '/boot'. Empty your trash and remove temporary packages
of former installations using 'sudo apt-get clean'.

Restoring original system state

Aborting
Building dependency tree
Building data structures... Done"

Bucky Ball
November 7th, 2014, 11:26 PM
You have 700Gb free on the drive, but how much do you have free in the Ubuntu partition??? Open Gparted and have a look at the unused space in the partition marked /.

(PS: Please use [code] tags for code. See the last link in my signature. Thanks.)

macsociety
November 8th, 2014, 12:10 AM
Ouch yes.... downloaded and installed GParted via Ubuntu Software Center and running the app see /boot is only 243MB and used is 191.65MB with remaining 51.35MB.

My /dev/sda2 is 931GB.

What size should /boot be?

I take it I have to create a GParted Live CD and boot from it to expand that /boot, correct?

Hope expanding can be done without affecting my main install.

TJ

Bashing-om
November 8th, 2014, 12:18 AM
macsociety; Hello;

Maybe best to remove the old kernels from /boot:

sudo apt-get autoremove

If one pays attention to /boot, re-size-ing may not be required .