PDA

View Full Version : Thoughts on a career change ...

boots.xiv
November 5th, 2014, 09:02 AM
Hey everyone,

I'm Boots, and I've been getting my Linux-feet wet with Ubuntu for almost 3 years now. It's been a slow process as I'm primarily a windows user, but I'm hoping to change that.

I have some questions. I'll try to be brief:

I'm almost 29 years old, married, with kids. I'm an accountant by trade, but have had a life long interest in all things computers. It was always a toss up between finance and computer science, and my career path was basically determined by the first opportunity that presented itself (a job at a local accounting firm). I have no post secondary education by the way. I enjoy my work, but often regret not pursuing computer science.

As an enthusiast I have gained a fair bit of experience with computers, so much so that I'm one of the local go-to guys for tech support. I've built a few of my own PCs, and started messing around in the linux command line, only the most basic stuff. Over the last few years I've had a desire to expand my knowledge in computing. I'm four chapters into Paul and Harvey Deitel's book C, How to Program 6th Edition, and I'm slowly gleaning more knowledge in Linux, using Ubuntu to write and compile the practice programs in my text book.s

But here in lies my quandry. I'm completely unfocused, wandering aimlessly about, with no clear direction. I'm hoping to tap into the experience of this community. Am I doomed to a lifetime of hobby computing (which isn't really so bad)? Is a career even still a feasible option for me at my age? If so, is there a way to get proper training without having to pay an arm and a leg for classes (got a family to feed)? If not, as an enthusiast, how can I learn about linux and programming in such a way as to still become involved? I'm falling in love with linux, open-source practices, and the community behind it all.