PDA

View Full Version : [all variants] Looking at Kubuntu and Mint

Tom_Carr
October 30th, 2014, 04:44 PM
I have been using Ubuntu Unity for the last 2 years and like it OK but want to try something new. I have installed Kubuntu and Mint. In Kubuntu I like the panels, but miss the ability to right click on the desktop and create a new folder. Mint lets me create folders on the desktop but does not have the panels. Is there a distro that lets you do both?

I like the dolphin file manager in xubuntu and the advanced search function built into it. I can install it on ubuntu, but it does not have the advanced file search. I haven't tried installing it on mint yet.

What is your favorite distro other than Ubuntu, and why?

Rob Sayer
October 30th, 2014, 06:34 PM
Actually Kubuntu is a Ubuntu distro. When you say Ubuntu you're talking about the version/flavor with the Unity DE. I think you may be confusing distros and desktop environments (DEs) a bit.

There are different DE versions of Mint too, and it's hard to comment without knowing which one you have. You may not be aware that Mint is based on ubuntu, though they're freezing their releases to 14.04 based for a while.

I don't like Unity personally. It's slow. Kubuntu is what I mostly use. KDE is considered slow and heavy too but you can tweak it to speed it up considerably. You can't do that with Unity.

One of the first KDE speed tweaks I do is to disable the Nepomuk index/search facility. I think that's what you mean by file searching in Kubuntu. That's a real hog and it slows the system down quite a bit. If you install Dolphin on a non KDE DE nepomuk won't be active. You may think that it's fast now but just wait a while ...

Dolphin is my favorite file manager. I've used it on all the other DEs I've used. Not so much for the searching but because it's very powerful and configurable.