PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Trouble installing 32bit 14.04

irongolem0982
October 28th, 2014, 03:09 AM
hello everyone i am new to ubuntu and my first install went pretty well. but installing it on my second computer is a different story...

i used unetbootin to load the 32bit ubuntu iso to a flashdrive then i switched computers and booted it. it took about 2 minutes in the unetbootin screen then it switched to the ubuntu logo. i chose my language, selected install alongside, then i allocated exactly 20 gb for xp and the same for ubuntu. the resize took about 10 mins then the disk usage stopped (the flashdrive was still blinking) and it went to the desktop with a mouse and a bar at the top. then about 10 mins later the mouse went to a normal mouse. then the bar dissapeared. now all i have is a desktop with a mouse that does not move.

my computers specs are:
2.4ghz intel pentium 4
ati graphics card (not sure what model)
256 mb ram (was planning to upgrade after the install)
40 gb hdd
other OS(s) windows xp pro 32bit

im confident I will get some answers!!!
Thanks in advance
David

grahammechanical
October 28th, 2014, 03:29 AM
You should have upgraded the RAM before trying to install. Minimum system requirements

[*=left]700 MHz processor (about Intel Celeron or better)
[*=left]512 MiB RAM (system memory)
[*=left]5 GB of hard-drive space (or USB stick, memory card or external drive but see LiveCD for an alternative approach)
[*=left]VGA capable of 1024x768 screen resolution
[*=left]Either a CD/DVD drive or a USB port for the installer media

But Ubuntu uses the Unity user interface and the system requirements then become

* 1000 ΜHz processor (about Intel Celeron or better)
* 1024 MiB RAM (system memory)
* 3D Acceleration Capable Videocard with at least 256 MB

https://wiki.ubuntu.com/DemystifyingUnityGraphicsHardwareRequirements

https://help.ubuntu.com/community/Installation/SystemRequirements