PDA

View Full Version : Dual-boot issue with Grub

massimo-mangiola-13
October 27th, 2014, 09:30 PM
I am new to Ubuntu, so don't be surprised if I don't understand something that should be obvious.

I've decided to install Ubuntu 14.10 alongside Windows 8.1 (dual-boot) on both my desktop and laptop. On my desktop, it worked perfectly; I made the live USB, installed it, everything's okay.

With my laptop, however, it doesn't seem to cooperate. The first problem is that it didn't recognize that I have Windows 8.1, only giving me the option to erase everything or 'something else'. So, I made a new partition for Ubuntu (with the swap area) so I can have both. I installed it, and when it finished I went into BIOS to switch the boot settings back to normal. After a reboot, it just went straight to Windows, not showing Grub. I don't know why; I used the same USB to install for both my desktop and laptop, yet my laptop gives me trouble. I've tried reinstalling Ubuntu, nothing changed. Heck, I even made a new live USB, which also changed nothing. I am trying to install the 64-bit version, so can that be an issue?

Is my problem connected to Ubuntu not recognizing Windows? If yes, how can I make Ubuntu recognize it? If no, do I have to do something to the partitions? Sorry if I'm not detailed enough, once again I am new to this.

Note: I've tried using the Boot-Repair ISO, but whenever I boot it, it just gives me a black screen. Any help on that would be appreciated.

Thanks in advance.

EDIT: I have quite a few partitions, (all backups and recovery partitions, they were there when I got the laptop), so that could be part of the problem. I don't even know what certain ones are for (I have a 300 megabyte partition with absolutely nothing on it. Is it okay that I get rid of the other ones? I already backup my drive regularly, so I don't necessarily need them.

yancek
October 27th, 2014, 09:53 PM