PDA

View Full Version : Unable to Install or Update Software Due to Frozen Dropbox Update

Terence_Cordner
October 26th, 2014, 06:24 PM
Hi, I've seen some similar issues to this in the past, but I'm a bit new to Ubuntu and wasn't able to figure out how to resolve it. I had an automatic update for dropbox that keeps freezing at 100%. I'm not able to update or upgrade anything else because I believe it is stuck with the Dropbox update. The error I get is:

"Software index is broken. It is impossible to install or remove any software. Please use the package manager "Synaptic" or run "sudo apt-get install -f" in a terminal to fix this issue at first."

I don't have Synaptic and can't install it. When I run the command in terminal I get:

"E: Could not get lock /var/lib/dpkg/lock - open (11: Resource temporarily unavailable)
E: Unable to lock the administration directory (/var/lib/dpkg/), is another process using it?"

Is there an easy way that I can terminate this update? At this point I'm perfectly fine getting rid of Dropbox all together too.

Thanks for your help.

bapoumba
October 28th, 2014, 04:03 PM
The message about the lock means there is another package manager open, the Software Center for ex. Please close it and run sudo apt-get install -f again and post the full output here, thanks.

Evan_B._Howard
November 3rd, 2014, 04:36 PM