PDA

View Full Version : Anybody still using crts?

JazzPotato
October 24th, 2014, 09:45 PM
Hi there,
I am a bit of a crt enthusiast and I am wondering how many other ubuntu users are into them. My current monitors:

- Mitsubishi Diamond Plus 230sb 22" (using it now)
- An old Amstrad PC-something or other, around 15"

Also just bought an awesome IBM p275 22 incher.

pqwoerituytrueiwoq
October 24th, 2014, 09:51 PM
i have a old P4 system using one, vary rarely gets used
i don't like crts, they give me headaches after a couple hours

tgalati4
October 24th, 2014, 09:57 PM
I have a nice, large Dell that I got for $50 new. It was a $480 monitor delivered to a business that went belly up. Still had the plastic wrap on the power cable. Decent, Sony-made, Trinitron. Good for photo work, excellent colors.

JazzPotato
October 24th, 2014, 10:01 PM
The ibm I have coming is actually a trinitron, I can't wait I've never used one before but apparently they're the best tubes you can get

tgalati4
October 25th, 2014, 04:11 AM
Yes they are. They have the best phosphors and best image registration. You need to spend some time tuning them. They have a lot of controls to dial in the image. Once that is done, you are good for a year or so.

mips
October 25th, 2014, 07:14 AM
Hi there,
- Mitsubishi Diamond Plus 230sb 22" (using it now)

I have a HP p1230 thats similar to that with slightly higher specs. I don't use it though, it's stashed in a closet.
http://www.cnet.com/products/hp-p1230-crt-monitor-22-series/specs/

lisati
October 25th, 2014, 07:17 AM
My TV is crt-based, too broke to update it with something newer. I've also got a crt based monitor for a Commodore 128 lurking around somewhere.

cariboo
October 25th, 2014, 04:54 PM