PDA

View Full Version : Back running Ubuntu.

frank75
October 15th, 2014, 03:54 PM
Well, after a year and 7 months from starting my Linux journey with Ubuntu 12.04LTS I'm back running Ubuntu MATE'. I didn't really care for Unity so I moved to Mint 15 MATE' and really loved having the drop down menus. From there I went to Point Linux 2.2(which is now 2.3.1) that is Debian Stable based with the MATE' DE and then I started playing with Software Defined Radio(SDR) and needed Gqrx support so I moved over to Kali Linux which had it out of the box, no fuss, no muss. Of course a Kali install is close to 16GB and I wanted something that took up less hard drive space so I started looking at some of the Arch based Distros. Out of all of them Manjaro and Antergos seemed to work pretty well with the edge going to Manjaro. I ran that for a few months but with the last update my bluetooth became kind of buggy and there were other small issues so after hearing popey and wimpy talk about their pet project, Ubuntu MATE', I figured I'd give it a try and here I am.
It runs great, no issues so far even with it being beta2 and I'm back to the MATE' DE that I really love. Still need to figure out how I'm going to get Gqrx working on my new system since I'm not very good at compiling from source but I'm sure I'll figure out something. Anyway, I'll see ya'll on the forums. ):P

d-cosner
October 16th, 2014, 01:08 AM
Welcome back! I have done some moving around myself. Now I just keep Ubuntu 14.04 installed on my large hard drive and put what ever I want to try out on a spare drive.

kc1di
October 16th, 2014, 02:09 AM
Welcome back frank75,
have you seen this page (http://gqrx.dk/download) they have a ubuntu ready download of GQRX seems to work here.

mips
October 16th, 2014, 08:05 AM
This is not gonna last long :biggrin:

prisoner8492
October 18th, 2014, 02:53 AM
I'm back to running Ubuntu (technically, Xubuntu) as well.