PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED] Only 3.11.0-23 Works

rob102
October 8th, 2014, 11:32 PM
Howdy,

I'm running Ubuntu 14.04 LTS 64-bit on a ASUS AMD A8-3870 with Radeon. This is on a dual boot with Windows 7.
For some reason the 3.13.0-35, 3.13.0-32, and 3.13.0-30 versions on the boot loader don't work. By that I mean, the USB keyboard doesn't seem to be recognize and I get a black screen after the initial Ubuntu logo on boot up.

It sounds like the OS boots, since I get the log-in sound, but no screen or keyboard. If I use 3.11.0-23, everything is happy.
I have tried the 3.13.0-35 recovery mode and enabled networking. I then did a fix broken packages (I think that's what it is called). It downloads and does the fix and boots normally. When I do a full boot, it does the black screen thing again.

I'm still a bit of a noob on the OS, but I'm looking at possible alternatives to Windows. I'm hoping someone can steer me in the right direction for what to try next. Any help is appreciated.

-Rob

Frogs Hair
October 9th, 2014, 12:42 AM
Welcome rob102

If you have the 3.11 kernel it indicates an upgrade from 13.10 . Is this a traditional dual boot or did you use the Windows installer? (Wubi) If you used Wubi there is problem that causes the file system to be read only when the new kernel is booted post upgrade. If you partitioned the drive and did a true dual boot there is a possibility of fixing the installation. The link describes Wubi. https://wiki.ubuntu.com/WubiGuide

rob102
October 9th, 2014, 02:51 PM
Thanks for the response Frogs Hair.
Windows was installed first. The hard drive was partitioned and Ubuntu was installed on the second partition. I booted up to the DVD drive and installed Ubuntu from DVD. I'm guessing this would negate the Wubi scenario?
I would like to keep from having to do a fresh install of Ubuntu if possible. Having said that, it is not out of the question. The Windows partition has to stay intact though.

Frogs Hair
October 9th, 2014, 03:03 PM