PDA

View Full Version : [lubuntu] Lubuntu and zoneminder...

krr2
September 25th, 2014, 03:38 PM
Hello everybody....

I'm a noob (sort of...) but I intend to use an old core solo mac mini with Lubuntu to deal two or three foscam H264 webcam....

ZoneMinder seems to be the app to use.

I followed several tutorial but none of them are for lubuntu, they are for Ubuntu... I thought it would be the same instructions... but it does not...

For now, I'm trying in a VMWare machine in my mac pro... with this tutorial (and others): http://www.zoneminder.com/wiki/index.php/Ubuntu_Server_14.04_64-bit_with_Zoneminder_1.26.5_the_easy_way

is there any change that should be done in this tutorial if it was for Lubuntu ?

thanks for help

ajgreeny
September 25th, 2014, 04:52 PM
I will not comment on the sense of installing zoneminder as I know nothing about it, but the procedure shown to install it in the link you show seems absolutely fine whatever *ubuntu family OS you are using.

Have you tried this yet or have you still to take the action?

Just remember that the sudo su command gives you a root terminal and whilst that is open you will need to be aware that it is possible, with a typo or similar, to do untold damage to your system, as there will be no "Are you sure?" questions if you do something silly and inadvertently remove something with a command.

krr2
September 25th, 2014, 05:24 PM
I will not comment on the sense of installing zoneminder as I know nothing about it, but the procedure shown to install it in the link you show seems absolutely fine whatever *ubuntu family OS you are using.

Have you tried this yet or have you still to take the action?

Just remember that the sudo su command gives you a root terminal and whilst that is open you will need to be aware that it is possible, with a typo or similar, to do untold damage to your system, as there will be no "Are you sure?" questions if you do something silly and inadvertently remove something with a command.