PDA

View Full Version : C++, Segmentation Fault: Where did I go wrong?

cppneo
September 2nd, 2014, 12:53 AM
Hi, I'm pretty new to C++ and very new to Ubuntu.
I'm having an issue where I run my program, a "Hello World" program using getopt to choose a name and number of repeats, I get the error "Segmentation Fault: Core Dumped". I am aware that this means that something is pointing to memory that either doesn't exist or is inaccesible, but I am not able to pinpoint exactly where in the code this is occuring.

Here is the code:

#include <iostream>
#include <getopt.h>

using namespace std;

int main(int argc, char* argv[]){
if (argc <= 1) //checks to see if there is a given argument.
{

cout << "Hello World!" << endl; //if not, simple output.
}

else
{
int m;
char *name = NULL;
int t;
char *r = NULL; //number of repeats
int ir = *r; //converts char to int
int c = 0; //counter

while ((m = getopt (argc, argv, "n:t:")) > -1)
switch (m)
{
case 'n':
name = optarg; //if so, grabs arguments
break;
case 't':
r = optarg;
break;
}

while (c >= ir)
c = c+1;
cout << "[" << c << "]" << "Hello " << name << "!" << endl;

return 0;
}
}

(Sorry about formatting, again, I'm pretty new at this)

One thing to note is that another version of this program I had to write simply used a name, no repeats (ie ./a.out -n Bob had to return "Hello Bob!", while this program ./a.out -t 3 -n Bob has to return "Hello Bob!" 3 times) and it works perfectly fine, yet if I even try to just give this program a name to use in place of "World", it gives me the same error.

For reference, here is the code for the previous program:

#include <iostream>
#include <getopt.h>

using namespace std;

int main(int argc, char* argv[]){
if (argc <= 1) //checks to see if there is a given argument.
{

cout << "Hello World!" << endl; //if not, simple output.
}

else
{
int n;
char *name = NULL;

while ((n = getopt (argc, argv, "n:")) > -1)
switch (n)
{
case 'n':
name = optarg; //if so, grabs arguments
break;
}