PDA

View Full Version : Switching from Ubuntu to Xubuntu

mollie4168
August 30th, 2014, 01:40 AM
My computer is 6 years old and very slow. It's time for an OS upgrade (I'm running Ubuntu 12.04), and it seems like I should try Xubuntu while I'm at it. I saw this post (http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=2133354&highlight=ubuntu+to+xubuntu), and I'd like some guidance as to whether a clean install or using the instructions on the two psychocats links would be better for me. My understanding is that I could keep my programs and files if I go the psychocat route, yes? To me, it seemed like the author of the other post was more particular than I would be about what he could do in the OS, and so a fresh install made sense. I'm not a newbie, but I'm close to beginner-literate on linux.

QIII
August 30th, 2014, 01:49 AM
I know that about 18 months ago aysiu stepped back from trying to maintain all of the psychocats tutorials. People have to have lives. Aysiu was a real trooper.

So I don't know how up to date any of that is. Last I saw the instructions for most things applied up to 12.10.

I would opt for a fresh install, personally.

fantab
August 30th, 2014, 03:12 AM
12.04 is supported until April 2017. I'd keep it and keep it updated.
I'd create a new ext4 partition of about 20-30Gb and install the latest 14.04 Xubuntu to that partition.

In my personal experience I have found version 'upgrade' from update-manager to be messy.
I always do a clean fresh install. I keep my personal data on a separate partition. I just format the old '/' partition and install new Ubuntu to it.

vasa1
August 30th, 2014, 03:13 AM
I know that about 18 months ago aysiu stepped back from trying to maintain all of the psychocats tutorials. ...
I keep this link (http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=416802&page=9&p=12695426#post12695426) handy.

I'm not sure what is meant by "I'm not a newbie, but I'm close to beginner-literate on linux." and so I'm +1 for a clean install.