PDA

View Full Version : Windows-like Icon Management Using Xfce desktop environment

lobonca3
August 24th, 2014, 03:30 PM
I am new to Linux and am using the XFce desktop environment. One thing I have not found out how to do is assign icons that are meaningful to me to various folders and files. In Windows this is easy. I do not see any way to do this in Linux other than the VERY limited Emblems available.

Can someone enlighten me?

vasa1
August 24th, 2014, 03:53 PM
That is largely true but IIRC Nautilus offers (or offered) something like what you want. Thunar, the default file manager for XFCE doesn't offer that, AFAIK.

However, if you're going to want all the features you've enjoyed in Windows or on a Mac, that may not be possible.

http://linux.oneandoneis2.org/LNW.htm

bug67
August 25th, 2014, 01:03 PM
You can change icons system wide by applying a theme. For Xubuntu, this is done in Settings Manager, Appearance, Icons. This is assuming there is already a favorable theme to choose from installed.

If, on the other hand, you want to change one particular icon (I'll use the trash can icon in my example here) it gets a bit more complicated. I'll do my best to explain it:

1. Navigate to usr/share/icons. You'll need to access the icons folder as root.
2. Next, you'll need to navigate to the folder that is being used for your system icon theme. For Xubuntu, the default icon theme is elementary-xfce so, I'm going to use that as the basis from here on. Inside the elementary-xfce folder are folders labled various things. The trash can icons will be located in the "places" folder for the empty trash can icon and be labled "user-trash.png." The full trash can icon is in a different folder labeled "status." Inside both of those folders are various sizes; 12, 16, 22, 24, etc.