PDA

View Full Version : Boot error

marek10
August 24th, 2014, 12:05 PM
I've found some threads describing this problem, however I decided to create a new one, hope I didn't do wrong.

I'm totally new to Linux and Ubuntu and I want to try them on my laptop however I can't seem to get the live usb working. Whenever I try to boot from the USB I get the "Boot error" message and nothing else. I also have a desktop PC and the Live USB works perfectly there, also a bootable windows 7 USB I created works on the laptop no problem. Plus I tried several programs for creating the live USB with no change. I've found out that the problem is that my notebook takes the USB as floppy, not as HDD and I cannot find any options in bios to change this.

I have the following USB: Silicon Power Blaze B20 8 Gb
And the following laptop: ASUS K52JK

Isn't there a way to somehow make the USB work without buying a new one?

kc1di
August 24th, 2014, 12:22 PM
Hi marek10 and Welcome to Ubuntu,

Have you tried telling the bios to boot from the floppy? see if it in fact will boot from the usb drive.

also if you haven't tried unetbootin to make the live usb give it a try you can find it here (http://unetbootin.sourceforge.net/)
it will run in windows ok. format the usb stick before running unetbootin ;)

marek10
August 24th, 2014, 12:36 PM
What do you mean? I set the priorities in Bios and when it tries to boot from the USB it's just "Boot error", nothing else. I tried searching the Bios for something that might help but I didn't find anything.

I've tried several programs including unetbootin and I formatted the USB before every attempt as FAT32. I think there is no problem with the Live USB, I think the problem is in the laptop.

kc1di
August 24th, 2014, 01:35 PM
Ok my next question would be have you tried burning the ISO to a dvd and tried to boot it that way.
Obviously the machine is not detecting the usb drive correctly.

Give the DVD a try.

marek10
August 24th, 2014, 01:38 PM