PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] upgrade 12.04 to 14.04 > Boot-Repair-Disk > "found EFi", check settings

juka2
August 23rd, 2014, 05:28 PM
Hi,

i'm new to ubuntu, used 12.04 without any problems, now I upgraded from 12.04 to 14.04, afterwords my computer doesn't boot any more.
So I started the "Boot-Repair-Disk", it tells me "Found EFI, check settings" and stops repairing... than it offers to install 13.04(?) for repair, but in advance i should save my data.. (where??)

I've got an "Boot-Info Skript", but can't get an internet connection...

I'm very glad for any kind help!

fantab
August 23rd, 2014, 05:53 PM
Boot-info script provides valuable info about your machine's 'boot' process.
We'd need to look at it.

If re-installing Ubuntu is an option and if you have all your important data backed up then reinstall Ubuntu.

juka2
August 23rd, 2014, 06:57 PM
Hi,

booting computer leads to:
error: file not found
grub rescue> _

Reinstalling Ubuntu is no option, as upgrade-option i've choosen "upgrade to 14.04 and keep data", unfortunately i didn't save in advance..

Boot-Repair-Disk displays the follwing messages:
1. EFI entdeckt, überprüfe Einstellungen >> found EFI, check settings
2. Achtung, dies wird notwendige Pakete von Ubuntu 13.04 Repository installieren. bitte sichern Sie ihre Daten vor diesem Vorgang. >> necessary software package of ubuntu 13.04 repository will be installed. in advance save your data

As i don't have internet access i only can type the textfile: hope these informations help:

Boot Info Summery
=> grub2 (v.199) is installed in the MBR of /dev/sda and look at sector ... of the same hard drive for core.img. core.img is at this location and looks in partition 112 for .

sda1:
Filesystem: vfat
boot sector type: -
boot sector info: no errors found in the boot parameter block.
operation system:
boot files: /EFI/ubuntu/grubx64.efi

sda 2:
Filesystem: ext4
boot sector info:
operation system: ubuntu 14.04.1 LTS
boot files: /boot/grub/grub.cfg /etc/fstab