PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED] Where does update-manager grab its temporary space?

m-brooks
August 21st, 2014, 08:56 AM
A while back I received an informational alert saying that a new version of lubuntu was available (I'm currently running 12.10 - quantal). When I tried to upgrade it failed, reporting that there was insuffucuent space on the root drive. My EeePC has a primary 4GB solid state drive at / and a secondary 8GB one at /usr. The primary drive has less than 700MB free while the secondary has 3.7GB free.
Now I can't even attempt to do upgrades because when I run update-manager it reports that it can't find gb.archive.ubuntu.com/ubuntu/dists/quantal/restricted/source/Sources.
I could try installing 14.04.01 afresh, but then I would lose the various applications and configurations that I have (painfully - I'm not a Linux expert) managed to tweak to my liking. I have at least copied a set of files that I had stored under my home directory onto a flash drive, so at worst I can do a fresh install and then copy these back.

However, a fresh install will likely just leave me in the same position w.r.t. major upgrades. I at least need to understand where in the file system the automatic upgrade needs to grab workspace so that I can create a link from this location to an area on the larger drive.

Ideally I would like to do an upgrade to 14.04.01 rather than an installation. I have downloaded and burnt the "alternate" CD-ROM, but I'm afraid to try using this without knowing what it's likely to do.

Any suggestions anyone?

Regards.

ajgreeny
August 21st, 2014, 12:06 PM