PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Desktop environment not working at all

xPRiiME
August 20th, 2014, 05:50 PM
Hey,

first i have to tell you i am new to linux at all. I really dont know anything.
I have a Ubuntu 12.04 LTS server.

I just wanted to get the Desktop environment and the 3d driver to work.
So i first tried to install xrdp, after that i installed ubuntu desktop.

The first time i did this, it worked. But just under 2d mode. I couldnt manage to install the 3d driver for the RS880 card. ( Radeon HD 4250 )
So i tried a few drivers, fglrx from the packet manager. Didnt worked. I also tried gallium3d and a few more.... I reinstalled my Server 5 times now.

After the last reinstall i installed the xorg-edgers ppa, updated the kernel and so on. I was able to access the desktop via gnome, but it wasnt 3d. So i updated ( took a while to start the update, wasnt able to start it at first bacause of network errors & so on ) ubuntu to 14.4. Now i have ubuntu 14.4. I did sudo apt-get -f install and updated all the things.

XRDP is working but there is no desktop. I installed gnome-desktop but if i log in via xrdp ( from windows rdp ) it only shows me an X as cursor and a weird screen.
This is how the whole desktop looks like:

http://puu.sh/b0zxo/9d05775a60.png

I tried to do:

echo "gnome-session --session=ubuntu-2d" > ~/.xsession

and restart xrdp. I also tried ( --session= ) gnome, gnome-fallback, unity, unity-2d, ubuntu, ubuntu-2d. But its the same for all.

I dont really know what to do now. I'd like to use gnome 14.4 and the gnome3 desktop, with the 3d driver.
I would reinstall the server again, just to get it to work... can you please tell me what to do? How to properly install the 3d driver and the desktop?

Thank you!

steeldriver
August 20th, 2014, 06:09 PM
What session files are actually present?

ls /usr/share/xsessions/

xPRiiME
August 20th, 2014, 06:14 PM
This session files: