PDA

View Full Version : Attemping to DualBoot Windows 8.1/Ubuntu 14.04: No GRUB2 Boot Menu

daniel181
August 15th, 2014, 01:33 AM
Hello everyone! This is my first time posting on this forum. Recently I have attempted to dual boot my new Toshiba Satellite S55 - A5167. I have still had no success thus far. This is not my first time trying to dual-boot but it is my first time trying to do it in UEFI.
I have followed the following guide: https://help.ubuntu.com/community/UEFI
It appears as if Ubuntu is installed in my machine but I am not getting the GRUB2 bootloader when I reboot my machine. Here is the log from the boot-repair I ran: http://paste.ubuntu.com/8049129/

Before posting, I tried to identify the problem. I noticed the following from the log:

No boot loader is installed in the MBR of /dev/sda.

So I tried to do an installation of GRUB by booting into the live session and attempting to install it on the partition. I have had no success.
I would like some guidance on how I could attempt to solve this problem. Thank you very much for taking the time to read my post.

ubfan1
August 15th, 2014, 02:09 AM