PDA

View Full Version : Screen "No Signal" after installation

faultlessimperfect
August 15th, 2014, 12:16 AM
Hey all,

I just installed 14.04 on my HP Pavilion p7z desktop and am now receiving a "No signal" error from my screen. Everything went perfectly during the install. I booted from liveUSB and checked that screen, keyboard, mouse, wifi, speakers, etc. were all working before installing. It went all the way through the install with the screen still working fine right up until I restarted the computer at which point the screen started bahaving like it wasn't plugged into anything...

I've been using Ubuntu for nearly 7 years now and am passably comfortable fixing most problems that come up (with the help of instructions from these forums), however, I don't even know where to start on fixing this as I can't do much without being able to see the terminal, etc... Can anyone point me in the right direction?

Note: I have searched the forums for existing info on this issue, but can only seem to find posts about a blank screen after login. I'm not even making it to the login screen, my screen is blank from the moment I restart. If there is an existing thread on this issue, I'd be happy to try and work from that if someone can point me in the right direction.

Thanks!

donkeyoatmeal
August 15th, 2014, 05:42 PM
Can you boot from liveusb disk fine? If so click install and then repair

QIII
August 15th, 2014, 05:48 PM
Hello!

Do you get a BIOS/EFI splash and can you enter and see the BIOS/EFI setup?

faultlessimperfect
August 15th, 2014, 06:04 PM
Can you boot from liveusb disk fine? If so click install and then repair