PDA

View Full Version : How do I edit lilo.conf?

bryan24
August 2nd, 2014, 12:42 PM
Hello,

I am a super noob at all things Linux. I just downloaded the latest version of Ubuntu, and installed it last night. I keep getting an error when booting up --- LILO is looking for sdb1 as my root when I know it is sda1. I want to modify my lilo.conf file to point the root to sda1.

How do I edit my lilo.conf file from BusyBox? Literally, I need the actual command syntax, not just a high-level overview of how to do it (sorry, as I said, I am extremely new to Linux).

Thanks in advance!

oldfred
August 2nd, 2014, 12:46 PM
Lilo?
While Lilo is available, it used to be obsolete, but I believe they started development again.

But grub2 is the standard boot loader with Ubuntu.

From live installer, install this and run the BootInfo report. It should show details. Post link it gives so we can review those details. It also can install grub2 if you want to use it.

Boot Repair -Also handles LVM, GPT, separate /boot and UEFI dual boot.:
https://help.ubuntu.com/community/Boot-Repair

bryan24
August 2nd, 2014, 12:49 PM
I did try installing grub, but it gave me a fatal error, so I went with the other option (lilo). Please help --- just want to get into Ubuntu and play around. Thanks

bryan24
August 2nd, 2014, 01:53 PM
btw, it doesn't appear that I have the "vi" command available --- that has been one of the commands I've seen other people using (through Google) to edit their lilo.conf file.

yancek
August 2nd, 2014, 02:23 PM
While Lilo is available, it used to be obsolete, but I believe they started development again