PDA

View Full Version : Ubuntu Desktop and RAID

Tyler_Meier
July 30th, 2014, 01:08 PM
I'm a rank beginner with command-line os in general. I'd like to pry my reliance on Windows out of my office and make the change, and it seems a reasonable starting point is Ubuntu. I have a secondary system at my desk, and my hope for it is to RAID 5 the 4x 2TB hdds to decrease the probability of catastrophic data loss to insignificant levels. I should add that my experience with RAID is generally absent. What I have accomplished so far is the successful installation of Ubuntu Server, which allowed me to make the system RAID 5, and at that point, I hoped that I would be able to install Ubuntu Desktop to soften the switch from Windows nearly exclusively GUI styled interface to the starkly colored, moderately intimidating, command-line interface of (apparently) most (if not all) properly configured Linux OS. I failed. When I tried to install Ubuntu Desktop, I had ceaseless problems. The farthest I got was to a login screen, that upon proper password entry, would freeze. after repeatedly trying to find a solution (at this point I am several long days into this project) I became somewhat disillusioned with my prior perceived ability to plow my way into Ubuntu with a fairly minimal amount of pain. There is another thread pertaining to my struggles, and Here (http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=2234050) is that. Please note that my apparent familiarity with commands and command format was due to the bleed-over from my friend who was visiting at the time. Any and all suggestions and help are most welcome. Also, as a side note, my hope is, that at the end, I can use software like Synergy or something similar to use one mouse/kb for both systems without having to physically switch them around. I suppose PuTTy is an option too, but I'm not sure. I was using PuTTy in my earlier attempts, it seems to work fairly well.