PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED] Will VirtualBox partition my actual hard drive or just the virtual hard drive?

bulrush2
July 28th, 2014, 02:21 PM
System: VirtualBox on Win 7
Installing Ubuntu Server 13.10 as a VM

As you can see I'm installing Ubuntu server 13.10 on a PC and I'm new VMs and Ubuntu administration. The Unbuntu install process is asking to partition my hard drive. Is it going to partition only the VM hard drive?

Also the Ubuntu install program has found no other OS and is asking to install the GRUB boot loader to my master boot record. Should I let the installer do this under my VM? Do I really need GRUB if it's a VM under Windows?

Thank you for your patience. I know I'm a total sysadmin and VM noob but I'm really trying to learn.

TheFu
July 28th, 2014, 03:05 PM
Unless you go really far out of your way - impossible without lots of extra effort - it is only going to touch hardware that your VM settings provide. Following the wizard, a virtual-HDD should have been added to the VM settings. This is really a file on the HostOS - but inside the VM, it looks like the entire HDD.

So - no - do not worry - it will not harm the real HDD.

Yes, you need grub inside the VM. It will not touch the hostOS at all, just the virtual-hdd inside THAT SINGLE VM.

Sometimes I find that watching a youtube video on something new, like creating a new VM in virtualbox, is helpful. It answers many common questions. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nKPA1pdhLwY is an example.

I would stress again that loading a new system with 13.10 is a bad idea at this point. It is not supported. https://wiki.ubuntu.com/Releases has the official support information. 14.04 or 12.04 are the best choices for an Ubuntu Server. A fresh install is much better than an upgrade later. OTOH, if loading this up just-for-fun, then go ahead with 13.10, provided it will not be placed on the internet or used in any production way.

bulrush2
July 28th, 2014, 05:01 PM