PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED] Boot hangs after installing nvidia driver

larry23
July 24th, 2014, 02:39 PM
Update:

Followed the steps here: http://askubuntu.com/questions/425140/unable-toboot-with-nvidia-gtx-750-ti-even-with-latest-beta-drivers

I'll preface this by admitting that I am a linux novice. I do run commands through linux at work but this is my first experience with setting up a desktop with linux. It is not as nurturing as I would've hoped.

Lubuntu version 14.04
GTX 750 TI

I've removed quiet splash from grub
I've added nomodeset
I've tried this with nvidia-current (version 304), nvidia-331, nvidia-340... PPAs, command line, synaptics package manager
Reinstalled twice just to start with a 'clean' state

After I install my nvidia drivers and reboot the machine, the bootup hangs/stops/freezes at the line
Adding 4051964K swap on /dev/sda5. Priority:-1 extents:1 across 4051964K FS.
Booting with recovery mode shows a different message with the same result of freezing:
nvidia : module verification failed: signature and/or required key missing - tainting kernel

I have used several different methods for installing the new driver, and follow the instructions to a tee. I've spent two whole days trying to do this on my own (with the help of google, of course) and now it's time I ask for your help, as I cannot figure out how to resolve this.

Thanks in advance.

edit:

Here's some additional info.

sedna@sedna:~$ uname -a
Linux sedna 3.13.0-32-generic #57-Ubuntu SMP Tue Jul 15 03:51:08 UTC 2014 x86_64 x86_64 x86_64 GNU/Linux

sedna@sedna:~$ sudo lspci -vnn|grep VGA -A 12
01:00.0 VGA compatible controller [0300]: NVIDIA Corporation GM107 [GeForce GTX 750 Ti] [10de:1380] (rev a2) (prog-if 00 [VGA controller])
Subsystem: eVga.com. Corp. Device [3842:3753]
Flags: bus master, fast devsel, latency 0, IRQ 11
Memory at f6000000 (32-bit, non-prefetchable) [size=16M]
Memory at e0000000 (64-bit, prefetchable) [size=256M]