PDA

View Full Version : Ubuntu freezes after loading the desktop

puballday2
July 24th, 2014, 02:27 AM
Hi all. I am completely new to ubuntu, and after windows ending support for XP needed an alternative for my dads old laptop, so decided to try Ubuntu.
Problem: After installing, can boot to desktop, but then as soon as you move the mouse the entire system freezes and no key combination (tried ctrl/alt/F1) will do anything!
Please any help would be appreciated.
PS: also does not work from live disc.

System:
Acer Aspire 9300
AMD Turion 64 (2.2ghz)
Nvidia Geforce Go 6100
2 Gig Ram

Hope this helps, and thanks in advance.

UPDATE: I have tried a fresh installation and managed to boot into desktop and this time launch libre office but it crashed during loading :( oh and the screen went all funny...

puballday2
July 24th, 2014, 10:50 AM
Can anybody please help?

puballday2
July 24th, 2014, 11:24 PM
Guys if you can't/dont want to help me then thats fine, but if you could at least give me a clue as to what the issue may relate to (graphics/bios and so on) and/or point me to a guide that I can help myself with then it would be better than nothing; really do want to give this ubuntu a try but at moment its looking like a no-go :(

yancek
July 24th, 2014, 11:52 PM
It might be a graphics card problem, common with nvidia as I know from personal experience. You don't indicate which release of Ubuntu you are using, is it 14.04? If it is click on the System Settings icon on the left panel, then in the new window click on Software and Updates and you should get a window with several tabs and on the far right is Additional Driver. Click that and wait for it to finish. There should be several options. The one in use should have the radio button checked. There should also be a recommended option. You can click the radio button for that and click Apply changes. Reboot to test it and make a note of the results.

puballday2
July 25th, 2014, 01:14 AM