PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Kernel Panic (?) and nothing happens when installing ubuntu

a_b2
July 20th, 2014, 07:55 AM
Hello everyone!

I am new to Ubuntu with only a little computer experience and am trying to install Ubuntu 14.04 (trusty tahr) on a 2004 Presario V2000 (it used to run Windows XP, yes it's very old). The computer had ~90GB of free space and 2GB of RAM, so I was installing the 32-bit 14.04 version. I burned the ISO file on a DVD on another computer, then put it in the CD drive and started up the computer. It took me through set-up, and I chose to wipe Windows XP from the computer, then went through the selection process (wifi, choosing options, account setup) and it was in the middle of loading something when the screen switched to black and there was a frightening error message.

I can't say what the message was because I had a knee-jerk reaction and forced a shut down. I remember the first line was something like "Kernel panic - not syncing: attempted to kill init!". But every reboot since then has given me a blank screen with a small blinking rectangle at the top left.

I know I can access the "Setup Utility" menu by pressing F10, but I don't really understand anything about the menu and I'm not sure how to even diagnose the problem from here.

coffeecat
July 20th, 2014, 09:43 AM
Welcome to the forum and to Ubuntu! A few thoughts.

When the kernel panics, you don't have to! :wink:

The first thing to check is that your installation medium is OK, both the downloaded ISO and the burnt DVD itself. Here is how you check the integrity of the downloaded ISO:

https://help.ubuntu.com/community/HowToMD5SUM