PDA

View Full Version : Updates and "apt-get autoremove"

Kirkx
July 17th, 2014, 08:46 AM
I'm a Linux newbie trying to figure out the best method to keep the system as clean as possible, without any orphaned files scattered all over the filesystem. I don't want any configuration files from deleted applications laying around in /home or in any other directory. Which is the proper order of running the following three commands when performing updates:

Option-1)

sudo apt-get autoremove
sudo apt-get update
sudo apt-get dist-upgrade

Option-2)

sudo apt-get update
sudo apt-get autoremove

Option-3)

sudo apt-get update
sudo apt-get autoremove

kc1di
July 17th, 2014, 10:15 AM
option # 3 is the way I would do it, You may also want to check out Ubuntu-tweak (http://ubuntu-tweak.com/) it has a nice janitor that works well.

ian-weisser
July 17th, 2014, 01:11 PM
I don't want any configuration files from deleted applications laying around in /home or in any other directory.

See the apt-get manpage.

apt-get remove/autoremove WON'T remove config files from /etc. Either use apt-get's purge option, or manually delete these file after apt-get's removal is complete.

All config files in /home must be deleted manually. apt-get will not remove files in /home under any circumstances. No setting can make it do so.

Running autoremove daily isn't usually helpful. Try running it when you actually remove something.

Running dist-upgrade instead of upgrade daily also isn't usually helpful...though it won't hurt in Ubuntu. dist-update does something very different in Debian than it does in Ubuntu, so be careful giving dist-upgrade as advice to everybody.

Kirkx
July 18th, 2014, 08:50 AM
Thanks for all replies.

1) I've just read on another thread that "apt-get autoremove" apparently removes obsolete kernels (Ubuntu 14.04+). So the key seems to be to learn to use this command wisely. First run:

sudo apt-get update

Look at on-screen messages and if some files have been removed run: