PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED] apparmor blocking claws-mail clamav plugin

a-you
July 8th, 2014, 11:24 AM
I just installed ubuntu studio trusty 64 bit (though I get the impression from searching that this is a problem that's not specific to ubuntu studio at all).

I installed apparmor-notify and thanks to that I'm notified that apparmor seems to be not letting the clamav plugin for claws-mail scan email. Yes, I have read many times that scanning email is not even necessary in gnu/linux, but anyway...

In spite of all the comments everywhere that apparmor is easy to configure I must say that to me it doesn't seem so obvious (I'm not a programmer, and not too geek) how to edit the apparmor profile for clamd such that apparmor lets it do its work. For the moment I have set apparmor to just complain about clamd and also uninstalled the claws clamav plugin; that's a fine solution I guess, but it would be nice to solve it for real if that's easy enough.

I guess what I'm asking is whether anybody can point me to an existing apparmor profile for clamd that fixes this, or knows of a tool or tutorial that really is for total apparmor n00bs---real simple step by step stuff.

I don't find aa-easyprof to be all that easy frankly. Unless I'm missing something.

Thanks in advance.

a-you
July 8th, 2014, 05:16 PM
I may have fixed it but please anybody that knows apparmor, if you would be so kind as to comment I'd appreciate it. In case it's totally the wrong thing to do.