PDA

View Full Version : 14.04: Kernel Panic and freeze

ComputingFroggy
July 5th, 2014, 10:47 PM
Hi,

I have been using Ubuntu to work every day for a while now, and converting a few people long the way as well.
I have installed Lubuntu 14.04 on my father in law computer to replace Windows XP.
The PC : double Pentium 4 3.40GHz, 1 Gb RAM, Graphic card: NVidia GeForce PCX 5300, HD 150 Gb.

The live CD and the install went fine, and the computer seemed OK.

However, every now and the, when starting the computer does not boot up completely and there's a kernel panic message.
Just rebooting will make it work (sometimes it takes several reboot).

However, when working with it, most of the time after a while, the computer freezes: it is not possible to interact with the computer (mouse, keyboard ...). It has to be shut off (and restarted).

I don't know what to do and where to look at: I had a look at the system messages, but I could not see anything suspect ... still I am no expert.
I have two other computers running Lubuntu 14.04 without any trouble.

If anyone could give me a hand to resolve this, it will be greatly appreciated.

Thanks in advance,
L@u

grahammechanical
July 5th, 2014, 11:39 PM
It could be hardware related. Make sure the RAM modules are tightly in place. Run memory check from the Grub menu. Just guessing. A lot depends on what esle Linux said apart from kernel panic. Was there more to the message?

Regards.

ComputingFroggy
July 6th, 2014, 11:12 AM
Well, I did not see anything interesting in the kernel panic message, however it is not that easy to read.

Considering the hardware consideration, I thought so too. I checked the memory: everything was OK. So I started the computer with Windows XP, and left it there for a few hours: no freeze happened.
If I do the same thing with Lubuntu, after a while the machine will freeze.