PDA

View Full Version : New things to learn

Tristan_Williams
July 3rd, 2014, 03:38 AM
I have been using Linux (mostly Xubuntu) for the past 2 1/2 years. I can efficiently install and new system and configure it to the same level as my regular-use desktop in less than a day. I'm getting to where I am bored with Linux. I haven't learned anything new in so long it's not interesting any more.

I looked on the RHCSA/RHCE website, at the learning objectives (things you need to know to pass the tests) but they are all so vague that I really don't any more of an idea than before I looked there.

I've tried looking online for new things to learn but they are either really overly vague (learn to run more software), or they tell me things I already know, or they don't say anything at all (they just say "hey, you should learn more, but we won't tell you what to learn")

So here's what I know already:

I can install and configure any Ubuntu-based distro
I know what each part of the filesystem is for, and where to find files and directories when I need something specific such as the logs for apt-get
I know how to manage users and groups with both CLI and GUI tools
I know how to install and configure most software, even the complicated ones like Netflix(doesn't work without extra packages), the good version of Google Earth, Steam, PlayonLinux, Tor, etc...
I know how to compile a kernel from source
I know how to maintain system packages, and update/upgrade/install/remove them properly (both CLI and GUI)
I know how to do web design
I know bash scripting quite well

Here's what I DON'T know, but I don't know where to look in order to learn

SSH and VPN (The online tutorials assume I already know how to use them, and just dive into complicated crap that makes no sense at all)
Managing a server, or any form of server-oriented software (Same thing as SSH, they think I already know)
Anything else you can think of that wasn't mentioned above