PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] How many HDDs is better to use in a dual booting system?

theo5
June 27th, 2014, 08:36 PM
Hello.

I am a newbie in Linux OS and I am planning to create a dual booting system with Ubuntu 12.04 and Windows 7. From technical perspective, it' s better to use 1 HDD - split in half - or use 2 HDDs - one for each OS ?

I am apologizing in advance for any language error - English is not my native tongue.

SuperFreak
June 27th, 2014, 08:41 PM
From the standpoint that if one hard drive fails you will still have a working system(you might have to repair grub) with 2 hard drives, it might matter. Other than that I don't see how it would matter

theo5
June 27th, 2014, 08:52 PM
Yea a boot repair is always needed, at least in my case, but i can manage that.
Maybe my question sounds stupid, but I want to be sure that it doesn' t matter.

Thank you very much :)

Bucky Ball
June 27th, 2014, 09:01 PM
Welcome. In the past, having the OSs (or the OS and personal data) on separate hard drives would be ideal as it would be faster. Now, it doesn't matter. Both on one or one each, take your pick. (When I got two five and a half inch floppy drives I thought I was king of the world!)

The only time it would make much difference now is if you were doing some hardware intensive computing; editing HD video or mixing a dozen tracks of high quality audio. Then you'd split things up to separate physical drives if possible.

Bucky Ball
June 27th, 2014, 09:02 PM
Welcome. In the past, having the OSs (or the OS and personal data) on separate hard drives would be ideal as it would be faster. Now, it doesn't matter. Both on one or one each, take your pick. (When I got two five and a half inch floppy drives I thought I was king of the world!)