PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Vaio Pro 11 - dualboot with Trusty and W8.1?

theawesometechgeek
June 19th, 2014, 11:39 AM
Hey UbuntuForum.
I have been testing Ubuntu14 on my (dell) Alienware M11x for about 2 months now.
I've become proficient with some commands, the basics, apt-get, and a couple more including make.
I have wanted a new laptop that's light to run around and just play basic games, browse internet, etc.
I found this Vaio for $750 on my favourite deal site, and the 800 gm weight got me damn hooked ;)
Looking around, the tuts on running Ubuntu on it have had issues with Grub and are only for 13.10.
Before jumping for the offer, what should I do to set it up with Trusty?

theawesometechgeek
June 19th, 2014, 12:12 PM
Sorry - forgot to include specs. may help!

Intel® Core™ i5-4200U (2C, 1.60GHz, Turbo Boost to 2.60GHz)
4GB DDR3 RAM
128GB Flash Memory
11.6 inch FHD (1920 x 1080) TFT colour display (TRILUMINOS DISPLAY for mobile, LED backlight, Touch screen (Capacitive))
Intel® HD Graphics 4400
802.11 b/g/n WLAN, Bluetooth®
Intel® High Definition Audio, Internal Stereo Speakers, Internal Dual Microphone, ClearAudio+ mode (Music, Video), S-FORCE Front Surround 3D, "Clear Phase", "xLOUD", "VPT", "Voice Zoom", "Sound Optimizer"
FRONT SIDE CAMERA: HD web camera powered by "Exmor R for pc" (Resolution: 1280 x 720, Effective Pixels: 0.92 Mega pixels)
Ambient Light Sensor, Backlit Keyboard, Intel® Anti-Theft Technology
HDMI (1), USB 3.0 (2), Stereo Mini Jack (Heaphone/Microphone) (1), SD Memory Card Slot (1)
Windows® 8 64-bit pre-installed

In the way of partitions, I was going to do either a Windows 32GB/Ubuntu 96GB or just wiping it slate-clean and installing Ubuntu.

What do you guys think?

Warm regards,
Remy / theawesometechgeek

grainbarcelona
June 23rd, 2014, 11:12 AM
Hiya,