PDA

View Full Version : I just began working at a Kubuntu documentation website

Christmas
July 25th, 2006, 08:02 PM
It's going to be hosted on my PC at the moment. Since only today I put it on, it's very simple and has only 3 HOW-TOs. I want to add some more as I learn more things because I'm a beginner myself. Take a look: http://86.104.196.200/home.html. Very simple, no pictures, no special design. I would like some design like WildTangent's homepage or TuxFiles or even FSF, so probably in the future it's going to look something like that.

So what are your first impressions? I know it isn't much, I also know there's plenty of documentation out there, but I like doing it and I guess it's not a waste of time.

MaximB
July 25th, 2006, 08:27 PM
very nice for the begining....
keep it working...
and add some stuff that could not be found on other sites
or it would be just the same "old" stuff

Christmas
July 25th, 2006, 08:39 PM
Thanks for the reply, I am working at it right now. I'll add new stuff as I learn more, and I will put some nice info about games, eye-candy etc, but first I have to learn myself :)

MaximB
July 25th, 2006, 08:52 PM
it's just a shame for me that you write on KDE and not GNOME (I use gnome) :(
but good luck ! :)
"and may the pinguin be with you" - star wars...or...is it..?

Christmas
July 25th, 2006, 09:02 PM
I used to use GNOME at first but switched to KDE. I think Kubuntu needs more attention IMO, it's so fast, and uses such a great desktop manager. Anyway it's best we have them both, and even with XFce and others, one can choose whatever he likes.

MaximB
July 25th, 2006, 09:13 PM
you got a point...freedom of choice.
but it has some drawbacks
1.I think it slows the progress of ubuntu , rather then making 3 OS , we could concentrate on one - and make it much better then all 3 (KDE,Gnome,XFE). - correct me if I'm wrong
2.some KDE programs do not work with gnome and visa-versa.

Christmas
July 25th, 2006, 09:22 PM