PDA

View Full Version : GPU installation on Ubuntu 14.04 LTS

richard58
June 5th, 2014, 06:00 PM
Hello guys,

I am new in this message board and just started installing Ubuntu 14.04 LTS on my laptop

I encounter big issues while installing my GPU (Geforce 860m) and I can't pinpoint the solution...I have tried for several days already without any success.

I tried this

"Do a clean install of 14.04LTS allowing Ubuntu Installer to install the default driver (this will be the Nouveau open-source driver).
On first boot run your updates - if the updater doesn't appear after a few seconds then go to The Dash (top left), type "soft" and click on the updater - the icon with the "A" in the centre.
Once that's done, reboot.
When back in the desktop, go to The Dash, type "soft" and this time select "Software & Updates". Go to the "Other..." tab, enable the two Ubuntu Partner/Third Party options, close the dialogue box & click "reload" when the option appears.
Go back to The Dash & reopen "Software & Updates" and go to the last Tab (Additional Drivers). Wait a while while it searches... it may take a few minutes. It should show a series of nVidia Drivers to choose from. I normally choose the one with the highest number & most recent updates.
Once done, reboot and, hopefully, all should be good.

However, when I go to Additional Drivers, it says "No additional drivers available"
I have run the command "sudo lshw"
and it is what it says

*-display UNCLAIMED
description: 3D controller
product: GM107M [GeForce GTX 860M]
vendor: NVIDIA Corporation
physical id: 0
bus info: pci@0000:01:00.0
version: a2
width: 64 bits
clock: 33MHz
capabilities: pm msi pciexpress cap_list
configuration: latency=0
resources: memory:f6000000-f6ffffff memory:e0000000-efffffff memory:f0000000-f1ffffff ioport:e000(size=128) memory:f7000000-f707ffff
*-display
description: VGA compatible controller
product: 4th Gen Core Processor Integrated Graphics Controller
vendor: Intel Corporation
physical id: 2