PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED] 14.04 Install Graphics Issue

benji2
June 4th, 2014, 09:19 PM
Hello all! This is my first time attempting to install Ubuntu. I'm installing it on an old Dell Optiplex 745, which previously ran Windows XP. When booting into Ubuntu, I successfully reach the Ubuntu loading screen (the one with the dots beneath the Ubuntu logo).
However, after about a minute of loading the screen switches to this:
[img]https://i.imgur.com/pdrqbaZ.jpg

Then to this terminal (I am able to enter commands, but there are many messages streaming):
[img]https://i.imgur.com/gLzTNnV.jpg

And then to another glitchy screen:
[img]https://i.imgur.com/gupkLDH.jpg

Then it just alternates between that glitchy screen and the terminal randomly. Not entirely sure how to go about resolving this issue. Any help is greatly appreciated!

P.S. Possibly relevant information:

I've tried booting from both USB and Disc, both had this same result.
I'm running an Nvidia graphics card.
I've attempted updating drivers by using "sudo atp-get install nvidia-current" in the terminal. It appeared to start the download, but nothing had changed afterwards.
Once, after allowing the cycle to run overnight, there was a message saying the system was in "low graphics mode", but I could do nothing to resolve that.

Bashing-om
June 4th, 2014, 09:48 PM
benji2; Hi ! : Welcome to the forum;

Also of prime consideration is the amount of ram that is installed. For a good experience in (u)buntu - the flagship edition, a minimum of 2 gigs is recommended.
From the spec sheet of your machine, maybe a better alternative for your machines is (L)ubuntu - designed to run on older hardware.

Minimum memory Dual-channel: 1GB
Single-channel: 512 MB
Maximum memory 8 GB (2GB per channel) 4 GB (2GB per channel)
Bandwidth 533MHz: Up to 8.5 GB/s in dual channel mode

https://help.ubuntu.com/community/Lubuntu/GetLubuntu

verify the .iso file:
https://help.ubuntu.com/community/HowToMD5SUM