PDA

View Full Version : Trouble installing Cylon Linux 12.04 LTS on desktop (looping boot animation)

Crypt96
June 2nd, 2014, 09:47 PM
This is not my first time installing a system. I have plenty of experience installing and maintaining a Linux system. I have installed and ran servers on Linux Mint machines, and I love Cylon Linux for its many preinstalled programs. BUT THIS is the first time i ever had trouble installing a Cylon Linux system on a machine.

In detail, the desktop:

This desktop has an ASUS P4P800-E Motherboard with a CD drive, 6 USB ports, 4 on the motherboard and 2 more extra on the front.
The desktop runs on a 3.2Ghz Pentium 4 Processor, with two 1GB RAM cards, and an 1.5V AGP video card. 250GB HDD. USB Wi-Fi Adapter.

The desktop is pretty solid and stable, I have ran Windows XP and Cylon on it before.

I want a fresh install of Cylon, so I burn a fresh new install CD on my main computer.

The problem lies when I put in the installer CD for a fresh install of Cylon Linux. The hard drive is not native to this desktop because I wanted to have a Larger sized hard drive to play with. The hard drive is functional and so are all the parts to the desktop. When the install CD reads, I am taken to the first time grub menu that states to boot into the live CD, Safe Graphics mode, directly go into the installer, or boot on the HDD. I proceed to the live CD boot option and the CD reads, and reads, and reads. I know that it will take a while, so I wait, and the boot animation proceeds; however, that is all the happens in the next 10 minutes, a boot animation. The CD even stops reading, and I didnt noticed it stopped reading until I look at it directly. The boot animation proceeds and the CD still spins, but it is not reading.