PDA

View Full Version : Installing Ubuntu 14.04 LTS alongside Pre-installed Windows 8.1 dual boot Problem

Amro_Ali
May 29th, 2014, 03:31 PM
Hello everyone,
Getting straight to the point, I am trying to install Ubuntu 14.04 LTS alongside a pre-installed Windows 8 (now updated to 8.1). I am a newbie (even though I used Linux and Ubuntu for some time now, I still see myself as a newbie), so I would appreciate as much help and clarity as I can get.
I am using a Toshiba Satellite L850-1L1 Laptop with the following specs· Processor Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-3630QM CPU @ 2.40 GHz· 8 GB RAM· 64 bit Operating System, x64-based processor· 1 TB HDD (No SSD), GPT Partitioning scheme (GUID Partition Table)· System BIOS Version 6.7 / EC Version 6.00 (no idea if this bit of info will help or not)

http://tinypic.com/r/24lv236/8

I removed about 60 GB of the C partition that has windows. I left it as a new unallocated volume (I left it as free unpartitioned and unformatted space). As for the Secure Boot and UEFI settings in the BIOS, I left them enabled (since I read in ask Ubuntu that it is always better to try installing with both options enabled) and shut down the laptop. Something worth mentioning, I read an article that said I should switch to CSM Mode before shutting down and then install Ubuntu; I did not do that. When I change the boot manager from UEFI to CSM Boot, it does not boot anything coz of copyright issues. Plus, Ubuntu boots in legacy mode and not UEFI Mode.